Happy hour….

A range of brews….

Time to get the kitchen in a real mess, fish out the syphon tubes and bottle up the wine which has been bubbling away in the living room for the past few months. Which inevitably means a bit of tasting along the way…….. The blackcurrant has turned out a bit sharp this year. Last year, my first attempt at winemaking, it was too sweet – so now know I need to aim somewhere in the middle. The rhubarb was a very pleasent surprise. I didn’t have high hopes for it but has turned out to be a very drinkable white. Of the two fermetations of it, one is a bit yeasty tasting, becasue I didn’t syphon it off into a new jar part way through, but the other is great. So good that I have harvested the rhubarb patch bare to start off another batch already.
Of course, when using recycled bottles, they have to be emptied before they can be refilled!

Initial soaking in water
With added yeast and sugar

Leave a comment